Philippians overview

Ends and starts. I was struck by Philippians being one of Paul’s last letters, his last to an actual church. There is a work tone, it’s the one where Paul discusses whether it would be better if he died and was with Christ or if he lived for a few more years ministry.

Reading it’s four brief chapters corresponded to new year 2022 for me, the year I’ll turn 60. Plenty of life in me yet, but I didn’t expect to be under-employed and uncertain yet again, just as Paul probably never imagined as a successful youth winding up in chains for his faith.

When he got to encouraging them with some of his loveliest images of adapting and coping with everything confident in the example of Christ, I was there.

Paul is much more of a poet than I’ve given him credit for. I know the poems and songs, but Paul remains none the less fairly fixed as a prose writer in my mind. This one has the poem about Christ humbling himself for our sakes rather than holding onto his equality with the father. This becomes the model and engine of our own encouragement to press on and cope.

The right message at the right time for me.

1 Paul is in a philosophical mood, weighing the advantage of continuing to live over being with the Lord. It matches my sanguine mood for new years.

2 the Christian character, humble and caring, self deprecating. I debate whether theres difference between personality and character, and if I’m ineffectual and an enabler.

3 great, classic chapter: clarity about other, often good, things we can depend on to replace the lord of life, and pressing onto His calling.

4 I take encouragement from St Paul adapting and coping with everything in Christ’s strength as I am confronted by under employment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.