Malachi 1

Malachi is the last book of the old testament and last chronologically. Israel has been great, then exiled, broken and scattered; and then with great rejoicing was miraculously bought back and Jerusalem and the temple rebuilt.

If the opening chapter sets the tone, this book is a downer, it’s the “but…” after the happily ever after. The honeymoon is over and cracks are appearing.

God has done big things, God has been generous in grace, but the people have been small in response. They give the diseased and the useless animals for sacrifice. God gets the left overs.  They have a show of caring about God, a show of gratitude and praise, but it’s hollow. They actually don’t care, and God says it would be more honest if they just closed the temple and gave up.

For me this is practical. How much do I give to God? I live a life that is mostly work, time wise. It feeds and clothes my family but it chews up so much of my time on earth.

Help me learn as I read this lord what is really important. May I be open to seeing my faults.

Leave a Reply

